Board of Directors

Board of Directors

Girl Scouts is a lot of fun, but it’s also a business with a corporate structure. We have a volunteer board of directors, comprised of girls and adults. The combined expertise of these community members provides the leadership to set the direction of the council and establish the policies and bylaws (amended April 25, 2013) that guide us.

Board Responsibilities

The board of directors is responsible for the corporate business and affairs of the council and the governance issues of the council (i.e.  strategic planning, fund development, financial oversight, interaction with the community and ensuring a system for policy influencing between the membership and the board.)

If you wish to contact any of our board members pertaining to these topics, please use the emails set up below. If you want to hear from a specific member, please note that in your email. Thank you.

Questions and/or comments related to the board of directors can be directed to:

Questions and/or comments related to the board development committee can be directed to:

Questions and/or comments related to the  bylaw committee can be directed to:

Board Requirements

  • Be a registered member of Girl Scouts of the USA
  • Financially support Girl Scouting at the leadership level
  • Attend five board meetings and the April annual meeting
  • Attend board training
  • Be a positive role model and advocate for Girl Scouting
  • Be willing to be a part of at least one council committee
  • Have a clear understanding of the council’s long-range strategic plan
  • Be inducted into the Girl Scout organization at the April annual meeting

Board Candidate Application

At the 2014 Annual Meeting, the board development committee will submit a slate of nominees to fill open positions on our board of directors.

If you are interested,  please review the criteria and complete the application. Please email your application to  or mail to Board Development Chair, Attn: Kathy Pinger, 940 Golden Valley Drive, Bettendorf, IA  52722.

Once the application form is returned, the candidate’s information will be forwarded to the Chair of the Board Development Committee. The Chair will bring that candidate’s information to the committee.  If selected, the candidate will then be contacted and a possible interview arranged.

If you have any questions, please send an email to

Board of Directors- Officers

Teresa Colgan, Chair
Burlington, IA

Jill Dashner, First Vice-Chair
Cedar Falls, IA

Michel Stone, Second Vice-Chair
Cedar Rapids, IA

Lee Mowers, Treasurer
Silvis, IL

Carolyn Haupert, Secretary
Dubuque, IA

Board of Directors- Members at Large

Andrew Abbott- Cedar Falls IA
Ann Menke- West Point, IA
Anne Ryerson- Geneseo, IL
Bill Leaver- Des Moines, IA
Dave Emerick- Rock Island, IL
Deb Oliver- Dysart, IA
Denise Bulat- Riverdale, IA
Donnelle Fuerste- Dubuque, IA
Dr. Kim Armstrong- Milan, IL
Jen Neumann- Cedar Rapids, IA
John Cummings- Cedar Rapids, IA
Kaitlin Zeiser- Lisbon, IA
Karla Steele- Moline, IL
Kay Sackville Breuer- Burlington, IA
Kendra Conforti- Dubuque, IA
Mary Ann Brown- Burlington, IA
Nancy Bether- Elma, IA
Nancy Dunkel- Dyersville, IA
Peg Hudson- Dubuque, IA
Quinn Pettifer- Cedar Rapids, IA
Scott Illingsworth- Rock Island, IL
Theresa Dunkin- North Liberty, IA
Tori Moshier- East Moline, IL
Tracy Schwind- Davenport, IA

Board Development Committee

Tracy  Schwind, Quad Cities
Jen Neumann, Cedar Rapids, IA
John Lohman, Iowa City, IA
Kay Sackville Breuer, Burlington, IA
Mary Lagerblade, Quad Cities
Sue Evans, Iowa City, IA
Randy Mihm, Dubuque, IA
Rose Lorenz, Cedar Falls, IA
Terri Dowell, Burlington, IA

Board Meeting Dates and Minutes

We hold five board meetings a year, in addition to the annual meeting in April. Meetings are held in person or via videoconferencing from 4:30-6:30 p.m. The purpose of the meetings is to discuss and transact council business according to the Bylaws of the council.

2013-14 minutes

  • October 17
    4:30-6:30 p.m. via video conference- all leadership centers
  • January 16
    4:30-6:30 p.m. via video conference- all leadership centers
  • March 13
    4:30-6:30 p.m. in-person (Holiday Inn, Coralville)
  • Annual Meeting April 26
    Hilton DoubleTree Cedar Rapids Convention Complex, Cedar Rapids
  • May 15
    4:30-6:30 p.m. in-person (Coralville Public Library, Coralville)
  • July 17
    4:30-6:30 p.m. in-person (camp)
  • October 9
    4:30-6:30 p.m. via video conference- all leadership centers

2012-13 minutes

2011-12 minutes

Bylaw Task Force Formed

A newly formed Bylaw Task Force is ready to begin reviewing the bylaws of our council.  Their task is to review the existing bylaws with an eye toward amending or revising the bylaws as needed.  The task group will discuss the proposed changes; make sure those proposed changes do not conflict with the provisions of the bylaws and policies of Girl Scouts of the USA or laws of the state of Iowa. The bylaws will then be incorporated either into the existing bylaw framework or into a generally-accepted bylaw format matching that of Girl Scouts of the USA. These bylaws are the basis for operation and governance of the organization.  Once the bylaw amendments or revisions have been finalized, the bylaw task group will present them to the membership for approval at the 2014 annual meeting.

The task group has broad geographic representation and is made up of board members and volunteers.   Michel Stone (Cedar Rapids, IA) is the Task Force chair. Other members are: Andrew Abbott (Waterloo/Cedar Falls, IA), Carolyn Haupert (Dubuque, IA), Donna Logan (Burlington, IA), Mindy Stark (Muscatine, IA), Tracy Schwind (Davenport, IA), Judy Johnson (Rock Island, IL), and Theresa Dunkin (Iowa City, IA).  Board President Teresa Colgan (Burlington, IA) is an Ad Hoc member.

If you have any questions, please send an email to